• Welcome to Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums.

IPv6 on Apple Airport Extreme/Time Capsule and OS X Client?

Started by alexkrishnan, November 03, 2009, 02:12:11 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

alexkrishnan

Hello,

I, like many on this forum, am completely new to the world of IPv6, so I apologize in advance for asking stupid questions :P. Since I am a resident of Fremont, CA and live less than a mile away from the main server, I thought Hurricane Electric's tunnelbroker would be perfect for me.

My goal for this topic is to gain the knowledge to create a step-by-step setup guide for Airport Extreme users for the HE tunnel complete with screenshots.

I am looking to set up an Apple Airport Extreme router running the latest firmware (7.4.2) for use with IPv6. I can access the IPv6 settings on my router by going to the Airport Utility>Manual Setup>Advanced>IPv6 and I am presented with 2 choices for the IPv6 mode:

1. Node, and
2. Tunnel

If I choose Node, the two fields that the router wants filled in are called "Local IPv6 Address:" and "Prefix Length:".
If I choose Tunnel, the 4 fields the router prompts me for are called "Remote IPv4 Address:", "Remote IPv6 Address:", "Local IPv6 Address:", and "LAN IPv6 Address:"

Which mode should I be choosing? And in that situation, which fields on the tunnelbroker.net Tunnel Details page map to which fields on the router settings page?

My ISP (The University of California) does not appear to support IPv6 "out of the box".

Thanks in advance for all your help, and even wild guesses are greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
-Alex

jimb

Quote from: alexkrishnan on November 03, 2009, 02:12:11 AM
1. Node, and
2. Tunnel

If I choose Node, the two fields that the router wants filled in are called "Local IPv6 Address:" and "Prefix Length:".
If I choose Tunnel, the 4 fields the router prompts me for are called "Remote IPv4 Address:", "Remote IPv6 Address:", "Local IPv6 Address:", and "LAN IPv6 Address:"